Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Art Spark Texas Artist of the Year Awards 2019

September 22, 2019 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Collage of multiple photos: Man in wheelchair poses next to his painting, two men in wheelchairs on TV show set, woman poses next to her art, man tips his Fedora hat in an art gallery

Please join us Sunday afternoon, September 22, 2019 to celebrate the Art Spark Texas 2019 Artists of the Year Awards. Hors d’oeuvres, coffee, tea and lemonade will be served. Music by Sean Wallace and Tristan Archer. Master of Ceremonies, Dolores Gonzalez, ADA coordinator for the City of Austin (retired).

Art Spark Texas will present its annual Artist of the Year Awards to five artists with disabilities who live and work in Texas. These artists were nominated by members of their community and were chosen by a panel of their peers to be recognized for their artistry and advocacy. We believe their perseverance to ignite the creative power in everyone is something we can all celebrate.

We are excited to announce our 2019 Haven Allen Artist of the Year Award in memory of past board member, Forrest Haven Street-Allen. This award is given to an artist with a disability who, through a one-time creative act or a substantial record of achievement, embodies the vision of Art Spark Texas. This award is being presented to Fort Worth artist Randy Souders.

The 2019 SPARK Award is given to an artist with a disability who embodies the spirit and purpose of Art Spark Texas. Dripping Springs artist Brandon Lack challenges perceptions of how people contribute through his artistic spirit on display through his imaginative and sometimes whimsical paintings.

The 2019 Director’s Commendation is given to an artist with a disability who, through advocacy and art, represents the inclusive world that Art Spark Texas works to create every day. San Antonio artist Susan Beattie is the founder and producer of the Mental Illness Awareness Week art exhibition, held annually in San Antonio, and she devotes her time year round to single handedly bring this important exhibition to the public.

This year, we are pleased to announce the Lynn Marie Johnson Media Arts Award. Lynn Marie Johnson was a longtime employee of Art Spark Texas and a strong advocate for representation of people with disabilities on stage and in the media. She volunteered for numerous performance venues in Austin, and served as panelist and judge for several film festivals throughout her career. This Award recognizes her unwavering dedication to, and powerful impact on, the lives of artists and patrons with disabilities across Texas. The inaugural 2019 Lynn Marie Johnson Media Arts Award is given to an artist with a disability in Texas who displays passion and commitment to enhancing the lives of people with disabilities through the use of media arts, i.e., video, filmmaking, photography, etc. For their willingness to tackle difficult subjects with insight and biting humor, we are pleased to award Gene Rodgers and David Dauber, co-producers of The Gene And Dave Show with this award.

For more information contact Gina at 512-454-9912 or [email protected].


September 22, 2019
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm


Art Spark Texas – OMOD


Sterling Events Center
6134 US 290 E. Frontage Road
Austin, TX 78752 United States
+ Google Map
Art Spark Texas logo

Would you like to receive updates on Art Spark Texas and upcoming events?
Please submit the form below
to join our email list!

Scroll to Top